When You’re Clear On the Other Side of the Country For A Week

I walk into that airport with space and free hands,

and I need something to fill them both with because they don’t know how to be empty.

Or maybe it’s me that feels empty.

~

Except for a thought, something that splashes up hard against my chest when I will a smile

as I wave goodbye to my girlie, clear on the other side of the country from home.

~

So I write it on paper because writing is a photograph of sorts to me,

like when the light shines perfectly on something everyday and turns it into gold

and so I press the shutter so I can remember before it goes.

~

This is my photograph from curb of the airport,

from the decision to move these feet to the ticket counter,

and through security and into a coffee line and over to a chair facing airplanes:

 

That I wouldn’t trade one day with you,

Not for all the peace and quiet in the world.

Because you braid color into my one-strand little world.

And I love the shade of you.

2 thoughts on “When You’re Clear On the Other Side of the Country For A Week

  1. I do hope you enjoyed your week though, and mama love talking to you!!! :”) Beautiful family!!!!

Leave a Reply

