This Guy of Mine

I’m reposting this from last year because I love this post.  :)

This Guy of Mine

We started dating when he was 21, I was barely 19.

 

 

One of my friends from Ohio met him and remarked that I was dating a Mountain Man from Virginia. I don’t think she intended it to be a compliment, but I loved it. That was back when he ran heavy machinery for his dad before med school started. His hair was long and he drove a Nissan with a lift and some big tires. My friend was definitely right.

Today he’s 28 and he’s crammed a lot into seven years- a haircut, dating, engagement, wedding, med school, two kids, six moves, half of residency. He drives an old truck and carries three hundred times the amount of responsibility than he did when we took this photo.

His eyes are more weary, but they’re still kind and strong, just like they were when we took this photo. Just like they were when I fell completely and madly in love with him for good.

 

 

Happy Birthday, Mountain Man from Virginia.

You swept this plain ol’ Ohio girl off her feet seven years ago and they’ve been the best years of my life.

 

Leave a Reply

