Homemade Chili Sauce

Our grocery stores are finally catching on that the large Hispanic population in our once homogenous town is here to stay. That’s great news for me, because they’re stocking all sorts of neato stuff in the produce department- including these New Mexico dried chili peppers. They had at least nine different types of dried peppers in bulk foods bins today and with as cheap as they are,  I loaded up.

My BFF gave me a cookbook that “challenges the diet dictocrats” (back cover quotation that makes me smirk a little) and it took me a while to brave up enough to try something in it because the recipes are wholesome (yay!) and look like they take some time (hmmm…). My first meal from that cookbook was Venison Medallions in Tangy Sauce.  Yuck! What a name!! But oh my goodness, that was the best venison I’ve ever, ever had. I actually liked it and went back for seconds and thirds! And decided that it definitely needs a new name.

Anyway…. so I’m getting braver, and I’m trying the recipe from that cookbook for Chili Sauce today. So far, so good. If you’re feeling adventurous, give it a try! You can make it as far in advance as need be, it’ll keep a while in the fridge or freezer.

Chop up and saute a medium onion in 2 Tbs. of butter. You heard me right, butter. It’s good.

In the meantime, I had some black beans simmering in the crock pot….

Anyway… back on track…

These are New Mexico chilis. They’re pretty mild and a little sweet (like my oldest munchkin:) ). Get 4 oz. from your local Hispanic-friendly grocer, and don some gloves to stem and seed them (chili pepper seed juice lasts on your bare fingers for a looong time and will get in your eyes- just trust me on this one).

It should resemble this when you’re done.

Add 1 tsp. of cumin to your onions, which should be quite soft by now. Feel free to replace the teaspoon with a heaping half-teaspoon if you suspect your 3  year old has run off with your 1 teaspoon spoon, as seems to be the case today in my house.

Now add the chili peppers, cumin and 2 cups of chicken stock/broth to your onion skillet.

Add two small cans of tomato paste, stir it in nicely, let it come to a boil, then turn it down and let it simmer for about 45 minutes. And please refrain from opening your tomato paste can to where the lid sinks down so perfectly that fingernails can’t prevail to pull it out. Like (ahem) the above example.

Did that make any sense??

After 45 minutes is up, run your sauce through a food mill. I don’t think a food processor or blender would be the same: a food mill keeps out the skins & seeds, where a processor or blender just mixes it all up together.

It’ll be pretty thick. I served it over black bean enchiladas tonight and it was amazing. It has a rich, not strong taste and you don’t need much of it. This made about 3 cups. I’ll be storing it in the freezer in little batches to last me for a few more rounds of enchiladas.

Well I think the wind is about to blow our little house down, so I’m going to dive de ep under the covers and stay there til morning!

Stay warm!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chili Sauce

  1. sounds yummy…again, wish I lived closer–like next door! Then I could sneak into your freezer when you weren’t looking and take some of your extra sauce.

Leave a Reply

