Just How Does She Know?

We have all the documents for our dossier ready to send off except….. one.
Our homestudy agency is supposed to write the document but they’re balking (long story… you’d get bored), so we’re just waiting for them to make up their minds. It’s all very frustrating, probably because it’s a tangible reminder of how much of this crazy adoption process is completely out of our control.
And of how much I hate bureaucracy.
And of how little people know me when they call me patient.
Because I’m going insane waiting.
As a matter of fact, I’m about to lose my mind, except when I see ………
This.
And This.
And This.
And This.
And This.
Often I need the crazy, hilarious, sweet, passionate energy of my youngest one. She keeps me on my toes and I love it. Usually.
But sometimes I just need This.
My oldest girl is calm, orderly, serious, smiles angelically for the camera- Always.
Except when sometimes serious is the last thing I need. Sometimes I don’t need crazy passionate or angelically good (name the movie!); but just a reminder to chill out, make lemonade out of lemons, see the silver lining, you get the idea.
How she knows that sometimes Mama needs a silly little girl who can’t make scary faces for the camera because she’s laughing too hard at herself, I don’t know.
But I needed this, the little Goofball.
Leave a Reply

